Patient Reviews

Reviews for Omaha, NE Director of Refractive Surgery Dr. Vance Thompson

Finding the best ophthalmologist in Omaha, NE to perform your delicate eye surgery or treatment might seem to be an overwhelming task. We want to see you happy! Our fellowship-trained, board-certified ophthalmologist Dr. Brandon Baartman will take every measure to ensure your privacy and comfort throughout your surgical journey. Vance Thompson Vision – Omaha chooses to be very open with what patients are saying about their experiences here. We have compiled all of our testimonials in one convenient place for you to review at your own pace. We are grateful for those who take the time to share their stories. Read through what some of our patients have to say about their vision correction from Vance Thompson Vision. If you have any questions regarding our patient experiences or would like to submit your own patient experience, please make sure to contact us directly.

Filter40 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.V.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 24, 2020

Great experience! From booking my Lasik preliminary appointment to my re-check after PRK surgery my experience with the staff at Vance Thompson has been wonderful. Dr. Goertz, Dr Baartman, the eye techs, office staff, and surgical support staff provided me with a great experience even in light of COVID. Dr. Baartman and Dr. Goertz both have an amazing way of interacting with their patients given they wear masks just as the patients do, and maintain as much social distancing as possible. I still could see the "smiles" on everyone's faces. If you are on the fence about surgery... don't wait, get that preliminary appointment scheduled. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 24, 2020

I had cataract surgery on both eyes at VanceThompson Omaha, on two consecutive days. They were extremely professional, courteous and very thorough in their Covid-19 screening to make certain their patients were safe and comfortable. Dr. Bartman was outstanding. The correction to my vision was 20/15 in both eyes and colors looked like they hadn’t looked in years. I would not hesitate to recommend this office to anyone in need of corrective surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 29, 2020

Can’t say enough wonderful things about Vance Thompson Vision in Omaha and the staff! This is me pre and post LASIK today! I’ve contemplated doing this for years! After 27 years in glasses and my complete and absolute trust in Dr. Brandon Baartman and Dr. Goertz, I bit the bullet and made the decision to do it! I couldn’t be happier! I feel and see great already and it’s only been 3 hours! Check them out at Vance Thompson Vision in Omaha! Top notch surgeon and staff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 09, 2020

I am very pleased with care that I recieved from Dr. Baartman at Vance Thompson Vision. The staff is very efficient and caring and surgery was a breeze. Dr Baartman is a super friendly and gregarious on top of being a great eye surgeon. I would strongly recommend this facility to my friends and family. I rate them as an 11 out of 10! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 24, 2019

Thank you Dr. Baartman and staff, and surgical team! Dr. Baartman was awesome! He explained all aspects of cataract surgery! Totally impressed with the new implants. Vision can be corrected after surgery using a small beam of light!! I opted for the regular lens implant, and am extremely happy! No glasses to see distance. I barely remember when I didn’t wear glasses or contact lens. My first glasses were in first grade......amazed that trees had LEAVES! Together, you and Dr.... B decide which lens is best for you! Pros and cons of each! Dr. Baartman is a warm caring Doc, with a great sense of humor. He and his team were a perfect fit for me! The procedure was PAINLESS! Drops are used to numb the eye.....no needles! Recovery for me was less than 24 hrs. Of coarse there are rules to follow the first few weeks! I highly recommend VANCE THOMPSON Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 24, 2019

Thank you Dr. Baartman and staff, and surgical team! Dr. Baartman was awesome! He explained all aspects of cataract surgery! Totally impressed with the new implants. Vision can be corrected after surgery using a small beam of light!! I opted for the regular lens implant, and am extremely happy! No glasses to see distance. I barely remember when I didn’t wear glasses or contact lens. My first glasses were in first grade......amazed that trees had LEAVES! Together, you and Dr. B decide which lens is best for you! Pros and cons of each! Dr. Baartman is a warm caring Doc, with a great sense of humor. He and his team were a perfect fit for me! The procedure was PAINLESS! Drops are used to numb the eye.....no needles! Recovery for me was less than 24 hrs. Of coarse there are rules to follow the first few weeks! I highly recommend VANCE THOMPSON Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 07, 2019

Having PRK done was a life changing experience for me and I am so happy about my results and seeing clearly without corrective lenses anymore! Dr. Baartman and the entire staff at Vance Thompson Vision are incredible. I highly recommend them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 06, 2019

Vance Thompson Vision offers very up-to-date, premier and comprehensive vision services. Their surgeons, doctors and employees’ services are exemplary! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 28, 2019

Everyone at Vance Thompson Vision was amazing!! They are there to help with any concern, worry or question that you have. They definitely make you feel like a friend not a patient! Dr. Barrtman did my cataract surgery & told me he would call the night of both surgeries to see how I was doing AND he did!! I would highly recommend them to everyone I know. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 28, 2019

I have had an amazing experience with Vance Thompson Vision Center. I would HIGHLY recommend them. Dr Baartman, and the staff, are phenomenal. They are the most caring people, from top to bottom. They were very thorough walking me through the process and explaining everything step by step. They are great with all the follow-up, as well. I cannot say enough great things about this group. I feel so fortunate to have been referred to them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.Y.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 28, 2019

My 13 year old son was diagnosed with bilateral keratoconus and needed crosslinking done in both eyes. We came to Vance Thompson after being diagnosed by another provider and they picked up his case and immediately began advocating for us. Insurance denied the procedure multiple times and they fought right alongside us to get the procedure approved. We had multiple setbacks in getting the procedure done and they went above and beyond to advocate, support and encourage us. The professionalism and compassion that was shown to use was outstanding. Words cannot express how thankful we are for this team and the services they provide. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 06, 2019

Vance Thompson Vision is the standard for exceptional eye care. From the very first phone call to schedule a consult, I felt like every need was taken care of, above and beyond my expectations. I’d taken my mom to her appointments with them before and was impressed with how well she was treated. I didn’t want to trust my eyes with any other doctors. Thank you to Dr. Baartman and team for your outstanding care through the entire process. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 06, 2019

Vance Thompson Vision is the standard for exceptional eye care. From the very first phone call to schedule a consult, I felt like every need was taken care of, above and beyond my expectations. I’d taken my mom to her appointments with them before and was impressed with how well she was treated. I didn’t want to trust my eyes with any other doctors. Thank you to Dr. Baartman and team for your outstanding care through the entire process. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2019

From my very first visit, Dr. Baartman and the staff at Vance Thompson Vision-Omaha have been amazing. They made sure I was well informed of the process and all my options for cataract surgery. The surgeries went smoothly and I was in and out in only a few hours each time. Now my vision is better than it has ever been. The friendly and professional staff at both Vance Thompson and the surgery center have always made me feel welcome and well cared for and I couldn’t be happier with the results! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2019

Our vision is a very precious and important sense. When realizing my cataracts had developed and needed to be removed, I was referred to Dr Brandon Baartman at Vance-Thompson Vision. He was highly recommended by my optometrist whom I deeply trust. In contacting his office, I found he was in the process of becoming a provider with my insurance. Kevin diligently followed through with that process and notified me as soon as it was completed. My consultation appointment with Dr. Baartman was amazing. Stephanie was so pleasant and professional. Dr Baartman made me feel completely at ease with the entire procedure. His explanation of the procedures was detailed and his analogies helped me understand each step. Janet helped me through the payment process smoothly. It was a lot of information to absorb yet they offered to answer any questions at any time. Yes, I did call a couple times to confirm I was remembering correctly and they were as nice as could be. Because of their sincere caring, I was completely at peace both times when I went in for surgery. Sue, my surgical nurse, cared for me with a beautiful balance of comfort and professionalism. Dr. Baartman called me each evening after surgery to make sure I was all right in addition to the morning after appointments. I am amazed and so thankful for this team and the indescribable improvement of my eyesight. I will be meeting with Dr. Baartman again for another follow-up exam in October. It has been a very peaceful and successful surgery. I HIGHLY recommend this team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2019

I had a fantastic experience with Thompson vision clinic in Omaha Nebraska I had my cataracts done everyone was super nice from the staff to the nurses and Dr. Bartman Who is awesome and great personality and great skills thank you again More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2019

I had a fantastic experience with the Vance Thompson Vision Clinic in Omaha NE!! I had Cataract & DMEK Corneal replacement surgery-June 2019. My Doc was Brandon Baartman who is awesome- great personality, confidence and skill!! I really can’t say enough about his work and all the staff that helped me get through this procedure. They are professional & caring folks & made a stressful time for me the best it could be. Thanks to Stephanie, Joslynne, Rachael(?) all the nurses & staff and Terri- the friendly face at the front desk and especially Dr Baartman! You all do a wonderful job! So glad that you do what you do- saving or improving a person’s eyesight is a miraculous job. So now I’m signed up to do the other eye in Sept. I feel I could not be in better hands!! Thanks again!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.K.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 27, 2019

I always knew that Vance Thompson VISION was a world class group of physicians and wonderful staff! On my recent check up in talking with the staff we were visiting and I found out she had been a vet tech before so the conversation went from there and that I had recently lost my sweet dog. And a day later I receive these gorgeous flowers! I’ve never known such a truly caring group 🙏I Will never forget your thoughtful deed🐾🌈 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 28, 2019

Amazing results from eye surgery at Vance Thompson Vision. Thanks to Dr. Bartman I can now see very clearly without bifocals. Colors are much more vivid. I would recommend them to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 16, 2019

Vance Thompson Vision successfully performed cataract surgery with replacement lenses. I am totally gobsmacked with the brilliant results and would not hesitate recommending Dr Baartman's skillful artistry and expertise to one and all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 25, 2019

My experience at Vance Thomspon Vision was exceptional. The entire staff went above and beyond to help/explain the process of PRK. I would highly recommend VTV to anyone looking for Lasik or any questions regarding the procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 21, 2018

I had cataract surgery last month with Vance Thompson Vision and Dr Baartman. The entire experience was so positive from the first appointment to be sure I qualified for surgery through the final follow up, I was 100% satisfied! The office staff and the surgical staff were wonderful, kind and caring. The real plus is that my vision has improved drastically! I can read street signs, see better while night driving, colors are brighter and I don’t need glasses for distance! At my age, I do need reading glasses! Thank you Vance Thompson Vision for this positive experience! I highly recommend you have the surgery if you’re needing it! Be sure to call for Dr. Baartman if you’re in Nebraska! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 19, 2018

Vance Thompson is the best place I've ever been to great staff and highly recomend More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 04, 2018

My experience was very professional and at the same time extremely caring. I would definitely recommend Vance Thompson Vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 06, 2018

As a person with a very high correction I never thought laser vision correction was an option for me. Well, I was wrong. The team over at Vance Thompson Vision were so helpful, knowledgeable, caring and attentive! I had LASIK done last week and it is remarkable how well I’m seeing...and it getting better everyday! Having two little ones that still wake at night it’s such a relief to not have to reach for my glasses every time they need me. Thank you VTV for giving my eyes new life!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 25, 2017

We are overwhelmed by the generosity and kindness the Vance Thompson family showed us when we had to cancel Mark's eye surgery on short notice. They are truly a Christian based group. They cared about him and it showed! Mark is fine now and we will most definitely be rescheduling with them! Thank you Vance Thompson Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 18, 2017

This time last year I was pretty miserable in my current eye glasses situation. Ever since I got my first pair of contacts in 4th grade I practically lived in them. I would take them out right before bed and put them immediately back in right when I woke up. I have never been a fan of glasses. However into my adult life I started experiencing contact induced dry eye which forced me into my glasses during work hours... then soon it became all the time. It doesn't seem like tha...t big of a deal but with a prescription of -8.25 even my thinned lens were coke bottles. I also had to have very big lenses as seeing out the sides the extreme blurryness next to the corrective lenses would make me nausea... And the whole feeling like I would fall down stairs if I couldn't see the stairs through my lenses. Then they also had to be very sturdy since I have young children. So huge thick coke bottle glasses were what I had to have. Frustrating to say the least. Every morning I would get up put my contacts in so I could see in the shower, put my makeup on then take out my contacts and put my glasses on and head to work... then I would try to put sunglasses over my glasses because I have very sensitive eyes. There was just so much to it anymore. I missed the days of being able to wear contacts.... until I made the leap to have Lasik. Never would I have thought I was a candidate but I am so happy I was! Now I can wear sunglasses whenever I need to, I can work with no glasses, I can see in the shower! And the list goes on and on. I am so grateful to the entire team at Vance Thompson Vision. The whole process was smooth and easy. The actual surgery was so incredibly fast, there was slight pain but completely tolerable for about 2 hours after surgery then all of a sudden it was gone! I had my surgery on a Thursday afternoon and was back to work Friday! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 29, 2017

I had LASIK at Vance Thompson Vision and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I was really nervous and they took time to answer all my questions making sure I was completely relaxed and confident in my choice before surgery. The procedure itself was so quick and the recovery time was less than 3 hours! I was able to drive myself to my appt the next morning and I was already 20/15 in less than 24 hours! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 13, 2017

My experience was fantastic. I highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 15, 2017

So pleased that my Dad had his cataract surgery here. Amazing results and the staff is absolutely AMAZING. So patient, so kind, and so thoughtful. I can really tell that they care about older people. I will be recommending Vance and his staff to everyone!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 06, 2017

Both my husband and I have had wonderful experiences with Vance Thompson Vision clinic. We have come to the conclusion that they only hire people that give the very best of themselves to their patients. 5 Star clinic. Carol and Len Neugebauer More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 21, 2017

Would highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision for LASIK surgery. Been very happy with my surgery from last year. Friendly and skilled staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 27, 2017

I had been considering LASIK surgery for years. I researched a number of centers in the upper Midwest and hands down, Vance Thompson Vision was my number one choice. In my research, I learned that although the cost of LASIK was less expensive in others centers, what they don't tell you about the other costs. Other centers charge an additional fee for the cost of drops, post op visits and the cost of enhancements if needed. Vance Thompson Vision was the best decision for me. Dr. Thompson and team were amazing. They answered all my questions and made the process seamless. I am seeing 20/15. Thank you Dr. Thompson and team! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 13, 2017

I have had a couple of different procedures with VTV and both experiences have nothing short of Amazing. As I started getting up there in age, I had to start wearing glasses to read and see things up close. I hated trying to keep track of glasses, as I only needed them to read. I didn't like wearing them all the time because it messed up my distal vision...Then I heard about monovision. To make a long story short, I had the procedure. I no longer need glasses to read and ...my distal vision is still 20/15. Boom! Problem solved. And the procedure was way worth the investment. The second procedure was to treat my severe dry eyes. They suggested Lipaflow. It was a simple procedure (15-20 Minutes), and the results have been incredible. No more watery, irritated eyes, no more eye drops and my eyes aren't all red anymore. This place is amazing. I couldn't be happier with the friendly people who want nothing more than for me to experience the best service and have the best vision possible. I would highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision to anyone looking to improve their quality of life! Thank you VTV!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 20, 2016

I just had lasik done today. It was an amazing experience at Vance Thompson Vision. The staff was genuine and I felt right at home. Everything was explicitly explained, honest feedback was given, questions answered and I was right at ease. Post op is exactly how they explained and I can see better already. Can't wait to wake up tomorrow and be even more blown away! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 09, 2016

What an amazing experience! I had my Lasix on the eve of my Birthday. The staff acknowledged my Birthday from the moment I walked in the door. First room a card and gift certificate, second room a cupcake and following surgery, (don't know if I should mention this.....) a bottle of my favorite whiskey! The Vance Thompson team are incredible. My surgery was a complete success and I couldn't be happier! THANK YOU to every one of you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 16, 2016

I had Lasik surgery on Thursday Feb 11th and I am so happy with the results! I could see immediately after surgery. My vision was very bad, it's like a dream come true! Vance Thompson did my surgery, he is amazing, very professional. The whole staff team was awesome. Great customer service! Highly recommend Vance Thompson Vision ;) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 27, 2016

It's been less than 1 week since my lasik surgery, and during my checkup today I was informed that I was already seeing 20/15!!!! There are no words to describe how happy and grateful I am for Dr. Thompson and his professional associates. This is by far the best investment I have ever made. My surgery may be paid in full, but I'll forever feel indebted. It's been a great ten years, glasses. But I'm sorry to say, you will not be missed! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 14, 2015

I used to think Disney World was the happiest place on earth....then I hadn't LASIK consultation at Vance Thompson Vison! Seriously, EVERYONE was smiling and treated me like a queen! What a great experience!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 01, 2015

I was blind as a Bat !! -575 in one eye and -525 in the other eye my glasses where so thick they hurt my face and where very expensive to get. and now Thanks to Vance Thompson I have 15/20 ( witch is better then 20/20 : ) in one eye and 20/20 in the other I love being able to see !! No more glasses for this girl !! I can't thank him and Dr Keith Ranussen and there team enough they r Awesome !!!! My only regret is I didn't do this years ago they R Awesome!!!! You can see perfect shortly after the surgery and it didn't hurt !!! I would highly recommend Vance Thompson and his team to any one !!! Don't go out of state to get ur eyes fixed we have the best right here in Sioux Falls !!! More